Hintermass - The Apple Tree

The Apple Tree


Available Formats Tracks Price Buy
Download Album (FLAC) 12 tracks £7.99
Download Album (MP3) 12 tracks £7.99
Download individual tracks From £0.99


Hintermass - The Apple Tree

THE GROUP: The Apple Tree is the first LP from Hintermass following their Study Series single for Ghost Box in 2011. The duo comprises Jon Brooks (The Advisory Circle) and Tim Felton (formerly of Broadcast and Seeland).

Both are multi instrumentalists, lending the album its rich texture of electronics, guitar, keyboards, percussion and exotic acoustic instrumentation. The sound is completed by Felton’s rich, warm vocals and Brook’s immaculate production.

SOUND: The Apple Tree is primarily a pop album; mannered and serene with strong electronic and folk sensibilities. This is balanced by expertly handled abstract sketches and instrumental pieces.

INFLUENCES: Both artists cite the kosmiche music of Ash-ra and Popul Vuh and their simultaneous re- discovery of the music of Nico as strong influences on the album. The songs also have clear roots in both traditional and psychedelic folk.

ALBUM: The CD and LP come lavishly packaged with artwork by Julian House. The heavyweight vinyl LP comes with a free download code.

Ghost Box


The vibe is mannered psych-folk embellished with simmering electronics, recalling Super Furry Animals at their most reflective on "Patterns Somewhere". here and there, meanwhile they abandon the song: the gorgeous "Luftglider", in particular, imagining Klaus Schulze transported to a rural English idyll.
May 2016

Someone’s needed to do an album like this for a long time. Electronic but also multi-instrumentally organic in the way that a hook-up between Popol Vuh or Ash Ra Tempel and acid-folk dons The Incredible String Band might be if both those acts were current; but then washed with a poised, contemporary sheen of interpretive, skilfully referenced analogue futurism.
Electronic Sound
April 2016


Download Album (GBX023 DL)
  1. Hintermass - Apple Tree
  2. Hintermass - The Rituals of Reversal
  3. Hintermass - From Leaving in Meaning
  4. Hintermass - Rain for a While
  5. Hintermass - While Away
  6. Hintermass - Apple Tree Reprise
  7. Hintermass - Patterns Somewhere
  8. Hintermass - Electric Hintermass (Sound Apart)
  9. Hintermass - Weicher
  10. Hintermass - Electric Element
  11. Hintermass - Uncertain
  12. Hintermass - Luftglider